Playing Ditch Weight

like post
Download Hilltops Issues
like post
Download Hilltops Issues

Congratulations to Damien Miller, James Maloney, Tom Shapcott and David Quigley on winning the Zone 8 Open Fours Championship played at Narrandera over the weekend.

After having a bye on Saturday afternoon, the South Western District winners played a team from Wagga RSL on Sunday morning and won 19–17.

The final was played in the afternoon against a team from Griffith Ex–Services. With one end to play, the score was 16–all and 3 shots on this end gave the Young team victory.

In the other divisions of the Zone 8 Championships, the Senior Fours was won by the Wagga Rules team skipped by Gary Brookes and the Cootamundra Ex–Services team of Jason Jones, Geoff Manwaring, Terry Smith and Pat O’Brien won the President’s Reserve Fours. All Zone winners qualify for the State Finals to be played in late September.

Local play on Thursday afternoon saw 22 players on the green.

Most games had small winning margins but the voucher winners were Ned Kelly, Alan Cooke and Tony Ruhl with the impressive margin of 16 shots.

Other winning teams were Aldo Malvicino and John Cooper (11), Milan Brankovic and Alan Gall (4), Michael Webb and Harold Anderson (3) and Ted Loader and Tom Preston (2). There were 18 players on Saturday afternoon.

The vouchers were sponsored by Patterson Bros Funerals and they went to Greg Woods and Peter Slater with a margin of 8 shots.

Les Fanning and Brian Madden won their game by 7 shots as did the triples team of Brian Christie, Garry Fish and Kevin Porter.

John Cooper and Mark Anderson survived a late challenge to win their game by 1 shot.

Play this weekend will see Jackpot Bowls on Saturday afternoon and mixed bowls on Sunday morning.

Players are reminded that entries for the Club Triples Championship close on Saturday 20th July and entries for the Minor Singles close on Saturday 27th July.

Players are asked to take special care when completing their entries for these events. The next preliminary round of the BPL Cup to be held at the Club is on Sunday 14th July and entries close on Wednesday 10th July.

Stay Connected

  1. Subscribe
  2. Get in Contact

Hilltops News to your inbox

Sign up now for the latest news from the Hilltops Area direct to your inbox.

You might also like


91 Boorowa Street, Young NSW 2594


Phone 0474 159 981


Phone 0474 159 981


We are always looking for new articles of interest to the local community.

Please feel free to submit an article for possible inclusion in a future issue.

To submit an article, click here to use our online article submission form.


Hilltops Phoenix FacebookHilltops Phoenix InstagramHilltops Phoenix YoutubeHilltops Phoenix Subscribe