Australia Day Awards Nominations Now Open

Australia Day
like post
Download Hilltops Issues
like post
Download Hilltops Issues

Nominations for the 2020 Australia Day Awards are now open across the Hilltops region.

Hilltops Mayor Brian Ingram said the awards are an opportunity to recognise individuals and groups across the Hilltops region who help, organise, give or campaign for the benefit of others. “It’s important to acknowledge and thank these special people and the Australia Day Awards are a great way to do this,” Mayor Ingram said.

“The awards also inspire others to become involved and continue building on the work already being carried out by these generous people who give their time and effort so selflessly to the community. This is an outstanding opportunity to provide formal recognition to residents who have demonstrated an outstanding community service and a contribution to the progress and growth of our area.”

Nominations for the Australia Day Awards in Boorowa are now open in the following categories:

  • Sports Awards (Committee)
  • Community Awards (Committee)
  • Lions/Apex Citizen of the Year
  • Rotary Young Achiever of the Year
  • Landcare Awards
  • Rural Fire Service Award

Nominations for awards organised by specific community groups and organisations can be made by contacting the organisation directly. Nominations for the Boorowa awards close on Tuesday 24 December 2019.

Nominations for the following Australia Day Awards in Harden are now open in the following categories:

  • Junior Citizen of the Year
  • Citizen of the Year
  • Senior Citizen of the Year
  • Community Involvement in Sport
  • Towncare Award

The Harden area includes Harden-Murrumburrah and the villages of Wombat, Galong and Jugiong. Nominations are to be in writing with a short resume about the person being nominated. Nominations for the Harden awards also close on Tuesday 24 December 2019.

Nominations for the Australia Day Awards in Young are now open in the following categories:

  • Junior Citizen of the Year
  • Citizen of the Year
  • Business of the Year
  • Environmental Citizen of the Year

The Young area includes Young and the villages of Koorawatha, Bribbaree, Monteagle, Milvale, Murringo, Bendick Murrell and Maimuru. Nominations for the Young awards close on Thursday 2 January 2020.

Nomination forms for all awards are available online at the Hilltops Council website at

Awards winners will be announced on Australia Day, 26 January 2020.

Stay Connected

    Get in Contact

Hilltops News to your inbox

Sign up now for the latest news from the Hilltops Area direct to your inbox.

You might also like


91 Boorowa Street, Young NSW 2594


Phone 0474 159 981


Phone 0474 159 981


We are always looking for new articles of interest to the local community.

Please feel free to submit an article for possible inclusion in a future issue.

To submit an article, click here to use our online article submission form.


Hilltops Phoenix FacebookHilltops Phoenix InstagramHilltops Phoenix YoutubeHilltops Phoenix Subscribe
About UsJournalistic Ethics and Complaints PolicyConflict ResolutionPrivacy PolicySite MapRSS Feed