Free Rapid Antigen or PCR tests

Boorowa Gun Club Monthly Competition

Written by: Boorowa Gun Club

Theo Lionatos, Ben Murphy and Neville Betts.
Theo Lionatos, Ben Murphy and Neville Betts.

Boorowa Gun Club’s return to monthly competition shooting was held on Saturday 24th October.

It was a welcome return to competition after seven months without any competitive shooting. With a Covid-19 safety management plan in place, the Club was able to welcome back members and guests to some serious competition. A great effort was put in by the Committee members and volunteers who got the Clubhouse and grounds looking shipshape on the Thursday preceding the shoot.

Self-nomination through the My Club My Scores app was available for the first time at this shoot and Eftpos facilities were also up and running.

Club President Geoffrey Mason welcomed all the members and guests on the morning of the shoot. Geoffrey said a few words for the Club’s friend Fred Twarloh, who passed away recently. Fred will be greatly missed by all who knew him and one minute’s silence was held out of respect for him.

Being the first program after resuming shooting, the Club made sure it was a huge day with 150 targets over three events. The wet weather warning undoubtedly kept many people away, although on the day, most of the events were shot under excellent conditions. A couple of squads in the middle of the day did however catch a heavy shower.

The 50 target Handicap event was won by none other than the undisputed master of the event at Boorowa, Benjamin Murphy with 47/50. Second and third place had to be decided by a shoot off with Theo Lionatos, Neville Betts and Justin Smith all tied on 46 during the event. Theo won the shoot off, taking out second place with Neville coming third.

The second event of the day was the 50 target Point Score. Justin Smith took out line honours winning the overall event after a shoot off against Dave Caccioppoli, both having tied with 149/150 in the event.

Dave took first in AA grade with Damian Rowett coming second with a respectable 145/150. Craig Bishop was first in A grade with 144/150 and Eddie Cummings came second with 140/150. Neville Betts won B grade with a cracking 146/150 and Geoffrey Mason came second with 137/150. John Thistleton won C grade with 131/150.

The final event of the day was the 50 target Single barrel. Justin Smith from Boorowa won the overall event after a shoot off against Matt Gerstenberg from Yass, both having tied with 49/50 in the event. Justin shot 7/7 in the shoot off, with Matt missing his seventh target.

Matt took first in AA grade with Giulio Serafin, also from Yass, taking second place with a respectable 48/50. A grade was won by Craig Bishop from Canberra with 44/50 and Eddie Cummings from Boorowa coming second with 40/50. Brian Frost won B grade with 45/50 and Geoffrey Mason took out second place with 44/50. C grade was won by John Thistleton with 32/50.

The overall High Gun for the day was won by Justin Smith with 244/250 for the day, continuing some fine recent form. The ladies High Gun was Kate Thistleton with 199/250. Junior High Gun was Rohan Fleming on 225/250. Veterans High Gun was Dave Caccioppoli with 240/250.

Boorowa Gun Club’s next monthly shoot will be held on Saturday 28 November 2020. The program was originally a two day event, but will now most likely be run as a day/night shoot. Please contact the Club or watch the Club’s Facebook page for updates.

If you are interested in having a try at clay target shooting, Boorowa Gun Club is open for practice for members and beginners every Tuesday evening from 5-7pm. All ages and abilities, 12 years and up. Photo ID is required.

Southern Cross Cinema

Stay Connected

    Get in Contact

Hilltops News to your inbox

Sign up now for the latest news from the Hilltops Area direct to your inbox.