KMWL Market Report

Playing Ditch Weight

Written by: Young Bowling Club

Zone 8 Open Fours
Zone 8 Open FoursZone 8 Open Fours

The players in the Zone 8 Fours Championship appreciated the fine and sunny conditions over the weekend. A total of 68 bowlers took part over the two days.

In Section 1 of the Open division Tim Crampton’s team from Tumut had two wins with an overall margin of 40 shots to qualify for final while David Quigley’s team won Section 2 with two wins and a margin of 22 shots.

The final was a close contest throughout with the score at 5–all after 7 ends, 11–all after 13 ends and 15–all after 19 ends. The Young team of Jono Watson, David Ward, Damien Miller and David Quigley scored 2 shots on the 20th end and restricted Tumut to 1 shot on the final end to win the Championship 18–17.

The qualifying teams from the sectional games in the Senior division were Howlong skipped by Phil Slater with two wins and a margin of 17 shots and Terry McDonald’s team from Cootamundra Ex–Services with two wins and a margin of 34 shots.

After 11 ends of the final the score was 8–all but Howlong won 4 of the next 5 ends to lead 20–9. The final score was 23–15 to the Howlong team of Ray Johnson, Robert McConnell, John Boyd and Phil Slater.

For the President’s Reserve division the winners of Section 2 were Tony Mayberry, Craig Sutton, David Hillsley and Michael Anthony from West Wyalong B&R who won both their games and had a margin of 25 shots.

There were only two teams in Section 1 – Junee and North Albury. Their game on Sunday morning saw the score at 15–all going into the final end. North Albury were the winners 17–15 when Junee’s final bowl finished closest to the jack but was narrowly out of bounds.

The West Wyalong team had an early lead in the final but after 14 ends North Albury had levelled at 14–all. West Wyalong won 4 of the final 7 ends to run out winners 22–19.

This was the last of the Zone 8 events played at the club on five of the last seven weekends.

Thanks go to everyone from the club who helped make these events run smoothly – the greenkeepers, the bowlers who marked games or umpired, the bar staff and the caterers who all provided great service. The effort put in by everyone concerned was much appreciated.

In local play on Thursday Damien Miller and David Quigley played Colin Parker and Cliff Traynor in a semi–final of the Club Pairs. After 10 ends Damien and David led 14–5 but after 14 ends Col and Cliff had reduced the margin to 4 shots at 10–14. Damien and David then won 5 consecutive ends and went on to win 24–11.

There were also 16 players for Jackpot Bowls. The vouchers for the afternoon went to Andrew Hutchison and Joe Bargwanna with a margin of 9 shots. Other winners were Alan Gall and Martin Betcher – 6 shots, Darryle Miller and Ian Gailey – 1 shot and Brian Christie and Ian Schofield – 7 shots.

Saturday afternoon saw 16 players involved.

Scott Douglas and Joe Bargwanna won their game by 15 shots to claim the vouchers.

Other winning teams and margins were Albert Carter and Greg Woods (9 shots), Brian Christie and Bob Ruhl (8 shots) and Chris Wright and Harold Anderson (2 shots).

Players are reminded that this weekend there will be another Sunday Funday with $250 in prizemoney.

The club will host a preliminary round of the BPL Cup on Sunday 25th July – all the details are on the notice board.

Gov – Before you cuddle

Stay Connected

    Get in Contact

Hilltops News to your inbox

Sign up now for the latest news from the Hilltops Area direct to your inbox.