Playing Ditch Weight

Lawn Bowls
Lawn Bowls

The South Western District Singles Championships were completed on Saturday with two events in Young and one at Cootamundra.

The semi-finals of the Open division saw Damien Miller opposed to John Goggin and Jono Watson opposed to Brenden McAlister.

Damien and John were level at 9-all after 11 ends and again at 15–all after 18 ends. John then won 5 of the next 6 ends to lead 24–17 and he held on to that lead for a 31–24 win.

After 14 ends of their game Jono led 15–7 and despite Brenden reducing the margin twice in the next few ends Jono went on to win 31–18.

The final saw some great bowls played by both players. After 15 ends Jono led 15–12 but John won the next 8 ends to lead 27–15. Despite Jono winning 6 of the final 9 ends he was unable to bridge the gap and John won 31–24.

The semi–finals of the President’s Reserve division were both one–sided contests with Jason Jones defeating Brian Gibson 31–8 and Cary Peters defeating Bill Luxford 31-12.

The final was a game of two halves with Cary playing excellent bowls to lead 21–6 after the first 16 ends before Jason won 7 of the next 9 ends to trail 19-25. Cary won 2 of the final 3 ends for a 31–22 win.

At Cootamundra, Geoff Hillier gained a big lead of 15–4 over Mike Barber during the first 12 ends before Mike cut the lead back and by the 30th end the score was 27–all. Geoff won the next 2 ends for a 31–27 victory.

After 13 ends of their game Graham Davidson and Peter Watts were 11–all and after 22 ends the score was 21–all. Peter did best over the remaining ends to win 31–25.

The final was a very one–sided game with Geoff Hillier winning 31–8. Congratulations to the three winning players who will progress to the Zone 8 Finals to be played at Young on Saturday 29th and Sunday 30th May.

Just 8 players took part on Saturday afternoon in fine and warm conditions. Brian Christie and Jeff Jacquier won their game 22–16 and Darryle Miller and Harold Anderson won 20–19.

There were 16 players on the green on Thursday afternoon in very cool conditions. Aldo Malvicino and Tom Preston won their game by 10 shots, Max Penfold and Tony Ruhl had a 9 shot margin and the teams of Albert Carter and Geoff Holt and Brian March and Les Fanning both won their games by 4 shots.

There were excellent conditions for bowls on Sunday afternoon – with the greens and the weather and the good company all combining well.

Eighteen teams completed two games of three-bowl pairs in an event sponsored by ARMA Fabrications.

The overall winners for the afternoon were Chris Wright and Glen Benson with Damien and Darryle Miller the runners–up.

Thanks to Margo and Damien for their organisation and to ARMA Fabrications for their support.

The draw for the Club Pairs Championship is on the notice board. One game is scheduled to be played on Saturday afternoon and a further four games on Sunday afternoon.

Stay Connected

    Get in Contact

Hilltops News to your inbox

Sign up now for the latest news from the Hilltops Area direct to your inbox.

You might also like


91 Boorowa Street, Young NSW 2594


Phone 0458 752 701


Phone 0413 248 499


We are always looking for new articles of interest to the local community.

Please feel free to submit an article for possible inclusion in a future issue.

To submit an article, click here to use our online article submission form.


Hilltops Phoenix FacebookHilltops Phoenix InstagramHilltops Phoenix YoutubeHilltops Google News ChannelHilltops Phoenix Subscribe
About UsJournalistic Ethics and Complaints PolicyConflict ResolutionPrivacy PolicySite MapRSS Feed